#selfie

2ed77935-8179-4d2e-b343-c332c1629416

I understand that this hashtag has been going on for a while now. The basic concept is that you face your device that you are taking pictures with in front of you and take a picture of your face. I chose this hashtag because, although I am not an avid user of this trend, there are many people I know who like to use it. Not only that, but the Internet has gone insane with a lot of posts about the ultimate selfie. To me, I believe that the selfie has its assets, but there are many liabilities, as well. Although selfies are a great way to express yourself as an individual, it is also a source of social disarray. Many selfie conquistadors are severely focused on taking the ultimate selfie, and will go to unbelievable extents to achieve the ultimate selfie. They may climb on top of really tall buildings, stick their head out of a car window, or await an approaching shark to take the selfie at the right moment. Selfies have caused deaths and injuries due to this focus on trying to impress others.

One thought on “#selfie

  1. The ultimate hashtag that you used! This is probably, in my opinion, one of the most used in our time. I am a selfie taker, but I completely agree with you that some selfies have become to dangerous. I actually had a friend that broke an arm falling from a tree, after trying to take a good selfie. Not many people know the danger of what a wild selfie can cause because not much thought is put into it. I believe the purpose of a good selfie is to take a picture that you can keep to always remember the good time you had on that day. That is my opinion though, not sure everyone agrees. It is good that you are writing about something that most do not know about until it happens to them or someone they care about. Good Job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

